NY-bound

Tomorrow I will travel to New York to attend the Commission on the Status of Women at the United Nations.  I am very fortunate to be participating in the Practicum in Advocacy at the United Nations sponsored by Suffolk University’s Center for Women’s Health and Human Rights, the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF), and the National Women’s Studies Association, with assistance from Physicians for Human Rights.  The practicum, a week-long program that takes place during the Commission on the Status of Women, provides 23 students with the opportunity to observe how the UN works to address issues requiring multilateral engagement and coordinated action between governments and civil society groups.  (For a more detailed description of the practicum see my previous post or Suffolk University’s press release.)

I am looking forward to an intense week of learning and networking and am very excited to share my experiences.  In addition to blogging here, I will be posting updates on Twitter throughout the week, so please follow me: @m_pomerleau.  (You can also view my most recent updates on the right side of this page.)

As always, I welcome your comments and questions and thank you for reading.

One response to “NY-bound

  1. I am looking forward to hearing about what UN propose to advocate for an what your innvolvent and experiences will be. Please keep me updated! Congratulations on your selection and look forward to hearing about future events’

Leave a Reply

